IE Not suppported

Sorry, but Internet Explorer is no longer supported.

For the best experience, it's important to use a modern browser.

To view the website, please download another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

  • Kitchener-Waterloo, ON

Winners of the 2013 Desire2Learn Innovation Awards for Teaching and Learning Revealed

Press Release

The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and Desire2Learn, a leader in providing innovative learning solutions, are pleased to recognize five outstanding post-secondary educators with 2013 Desire2Learn Innovation Awards for Teachi

Sandra Bassendowski of the University of Saskatchewan, Shawn Graham of Carleton University, Jacqueline Murray of the University of Guelph, Trent Tucker, also of the University of Guelph, and Ellen Zweibel of the University of Ottawa were all honored for their exceptional and innovative approaches to education.

“We are delighted to thank these educators for the exceptional contributions they’ve made to teaching and learning,” said John Baker, President and CEO of Desire2Learn. “It inspires me to watch industry peers enable learners with personalized educational experiences that equip them with the skills, values, and knowledge they need to thrive in our modern society.”

The Desire2Learn Innovation Award recognizes and celebrates innovative teaching and learning approaches in post-secondary education, both nationally and internationally. This award encourages educators to explore, experiment and reflect on innovative teaching and learning techniques.

This year’s winners were selected by a panel of seven educators from various post-secondary institutions who have a wealth of experience working with creative and innovative teaching and learning initiatives.

Each of this year’s recipients showcased exceptional commitment to innovative practices that fostered student-centered learning experiences. Each recipient demonstrated stunning creativity, dedication and passion to help students achieve their education goals through creative usage of technology, including augmented reality and game-based learning, engaging curricular and course design and unique face-to-face and online environments.

“Congratulations to Sandra, Shawn, Jacqueline, Trent and Ellen for bringing the spirit of innovation into our community” said Arshad Ahmad, STLHE president. “We extend a warm welcome to the 2013 Desire2Learn Innovation cohort to join our annual conference, spend time to get to know each other and become part of a larger community that encourages creative and imaginative pathways to accelerate learning.”

The winners will be celebrated on June 21 in Sydney, Nova Scotia at the 2013 STLHE Annual Conference. Each of the five winners will receive a two-year membership in STLHE as well as $2,200 toward travel and registration costs for Desire2Learn’s annual users’ conference,
FUSION 2013, and STLHE’s Annual Conference. The award winners will also be recognized at FUSION, which will be held from July 15-17 in Boston.

For more information about the award and to read the award winners’ biographies, please visit the STLHE/Desire2Learn award page.

About Desire2Learn Incorporated

Desire2Learn Incorporated is a world-leading provider of enterprise eLearning solutions that enable institutions and other organizations to create teaching and learning environments that reflect their vision, goals, and branding. Desire2Learn and its subsidiaries support more than eight million learners worldwide. Clients include higher education, K-12, and healthcare as well as associations, government and other leading organizations. Founded in 1999, Desire2Learn has personnel in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, Brazil, and Singapore. For more information, visit:, call 1.519.772.0325 or toll-free 1.888.772.0325 (within North America), +44 808.234.4235 (U.K. and Europe), 0.800.452.069 (New Zealand) and 1.800.656.210 (Australia).

Press Contacts:

Virginia Jamieson
Head of Global Communications, D2L Ltd.
[email protected]
Twitter: @Desire2Learn, @D2LNews
Tim Morin
famaPR for Desire2Learn,
[email protected]