IE Not suppported

Sorry, but Internet Explorer is no longer supported.

For the best experience, it's important to use a modern browser.

To view the website, please download another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

  • Kitchener-Waterloo, ON and Baltimore, MD

STLHE and Desire2Learn Announce the Winners of the 2012 Desire2Learn Innovation Award for Teaching and Learning

Press Release

Five educators recognized with the Desire2Learn Innovation Award for Teaching and Learning to celebrate their exceptional and innovative approaches to education

The Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and Desire2Learn Incorporated (Desire2Learn), a leading provider of enterprise teaching and learning platforms, are very pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural Desire2Learn Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning.

The Desire2Learn Innovation Award for Teaching and Learning seeks to recognize and celebrate innovative teaching approaches in post-secondary education, both nationally and internationally. This award has been established to inspire and encourage educators to utilize innovative techniques, and to showcase proven examples of innovation.

The award recipients are:

  • Tetyana Antimirova – Ryerson University, Department of Physics
  • Alison Flynn – University of Ottawa, Department of Chemistry
  • Joe Shapter – Flinders University, School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
  • Robert Sproule – University of Waterloo, School of Accounting and Finance
  • Jay Wilson – University of Saskatchewan, College of Education

“I am absolutely delighted to congratulate and join the inaugural celebration of this Desire2Learn Innovation Award cohort. STLHE members join me in recognizing each of these trailblazers who have taken personal risks in committing themselves to creative projects that have made a difference to students”, says STLHE President, Arshad Ahmad. “We are also thrilled that they are leading the launch of a community of innovative educators that embody our collective vision.”

These inaugural five winners are great examples of the high caliber of instruction and the positive impact of creativity on teaching and learning at the post-secondary level. They each show their commitment to teaching and innovation while employing new approaches that promote meaningful learning at post-secondary institutions. Each of the award recipients has had a positive and long-term impact on their students’ learning and development.

“Desire2Learn congratulates these five exceptional educators on their accomplishments, and the commitment they bring to inspiring the next generation of leaders,” remarks John Baker, President & CEO, Desire2Learn. “In a society where innovation is of paramount importance, we are thrilled to recognize these individuals who instill a passion for creativity in their students. It is educators like these who are paving the way for the future of education.”

The distinguished winners were chosen by a panel of six educators from various post-secondary institutions. Each panel member has a wealth of experience working with creative and innovative teaching and learning initiatives.

The winners will be celebrated on June 21 in Montreal at the banquet of the 2012 STLHE Annual Conference and each will receive a two-year membership in STLHE as well as $2200 toward travel and registration costs for Desire2Learn’s annual users’ conference, FUSION 2012, and STLHE’s Annual Conference. FUSION will be held July 16-18 in San Diego, California where the Desire2Learn Innovation award winners will also be recognized.

For more information about the award and to read bios of the award winners, please visit

About Desire2Learn

Desire2Learn Incorporated is a world-leading provider of enterprise eLearning solutions that enable institutions and other organizations to create teaching and learning environments that reflect their vision, goals, and branding. Desire2Learn and its subsidiaries support more than eight million learners worldwide. Clients include higher education, K-12, and healthcare, as well as associations, government and other leading organizations. Founded in 1999, Desire2Learn has personnel in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and Australia. For more information, visit:, call 1.519.772.0325 or toll-free 1.888.772.0325 (within North America), +44 808.234.4235 (U.K. and Europe), 0.800.452.069 (New Zealand) and 1.800.656.210 (Australia).

Press Contacts:

John McLeod
Vice-President, Marketing, Desire2Learn Incorporated
[email protected]
Twitter: @Desire2Learn