Desire2EXCEL 2010 Award Nominees Named | Press Release | D2L
IE Not suppported

Sorry, but Internet Explorer is no longer supported.

For the best experience, it's important to use a modern browser.

To view the website, please download another browser such as Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox.

  • Kitchener-Waterloo, ON

Desire2EXCEL 2010 Award Nominees Named

Press Release

Desire2Learn users exemplifying outstanding collaboration, leadership and innovation to be recognized at FUSION 2010: Architects of Education, Chicago

Desire2Learn Incorporated (Desire2Learn), a leading provider of mission-critical enterprise eLearning solutions, today announced the nominees for this year’s Desire2EXCEL awards. The annual Desire2EXCEL Awards Program recognizes the multitude of Desire2Learn users and the leading edge contributions they make toward their respective organizations and the eLearning community. This year’s nominees are:

David Chatham & Frank Vazquez CCCOnline Colorado, U.S.A.
Lee Christopher & Raja Sen Arapahoe Community College Colorado, U.S.A.
Alison Crerar, Stephen Lynch, Kyle Mackie & Jason Thompson University of Guelph Ontario, Canada
Scott Douglas and Richard Gorrie University of Guelph Ontario, Canada
Karla Farrell, Catherine Artac, Jessica Franson & Jeri Weiser University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Patricia Fellows & Karen Franker University of Wisconsin Colleges Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Darlene Feltham, Jody Locke, Tanya Wight & Pam Sullivan College of the North Atlantic Newfoundland & Labrador, Canada
Groupe des technologies de l’apprentissage & education permanente Universit de Moncton New Brunswick, Canada
Learn@UW Team, Kathy Christoph, Jeanne Blochwitz & Peter Mann University of Wisconsin System Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Paula Lentz & Nancy Hanson-Rasmussen University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Lynn Mack Piedmont Technical College South Carolina, U.S.A.
Kyle Mackie University of Guelph Ontario, Canada
Clarence Maise & Jeff Hoel University of Wisconsin Extension and University of Wisconsin Stout Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Vicki McGarvey & Anna Armstrong Nottingham Trent University Nottingham, U.K.
Tammy McGraw Virtual Virginia Virginia, U.S.A.
Wendy Oliver e4TN Tennessee, U.S.A.
Justin Rogers Georgia Virtual School Georgia, U.S.A.
Amy Sorensen & Nathan Wadman CCCOnline and Pikes Peak Community College Colorado, U.S.A.
Laura Sturgis York Technical College South Carolina, U.S.A.
Mingyu Sun University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee (Language Resource Center) Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Shin-Ping Tucker University of Wisconsin – Superior Wisconsin, U.S.A.
Debra Warren, Maggie Tompkins, Rufina Butler, Ruth Sobol, & Lori Poole CCCOnline Colorado, U.S.A.
Shouhong Zhang South Dakota State University South Dakota, U.S.A.

The nominees compete in one of three categories:

Desire2EXCEL Innovation Award  A nomination to this category breaks with conventional processes to address needs and go beyond marginal improvements. The innovation can be present within a course, program-wide or community-wide.

Desire2EXCEL Collaboration Award  A nomination to this category could include collaboration between and among learners, instructors, administrators, internal and external experts/mentors, researchers, and/or community members within the course, department, or institution. Collaboration could also be with external agencies, corporations, K-12 schools or school districts, Colleges and Universities, and/or consortiums.

Desire2EXCEL Impact Award  Nominations to this category have a wide influence and scope, and can be replicated by others either internally to the institution or externally by others. Additionally, metrics and measurement evidence proves worthiness of being a best practice with broad implementation.

Entries for all three categories are reviewed and judged by the Awards Committee, composed of a cross-section of Desire2Learn clients from K-12, higher education, government and corporations. Nominees will be showcased in Poster Presentations during the Seventh Annual Desire2Learn Users Conference, FUSION 2010, July 11 – 16 in Chicago, Illinois. Winners will be honored during special award ceremonies during the conference. Each winner will receive their choice of an Honorarium or other notable awards.

“Every year we are very impressed with the range and caliber of submissions for the annual Desire2EXCEL Awards,” said John McLeod, Desire2Learn Director of Marketing. “The Awards presentations are always a key component of the conference  a celebration of all those who work so persistently to demonstrate excellence in eLearning.”

About Desire2Learn Incorporated

Desire2Learn Incorporated is a world-leading provider of enterprise eLearning solutions that enable institutions and other organizations to create teaching and learning environments that reflect their vision, values, goals, pedagogical approaches and branding. Desire2Learn and its subsidiaries support more than five million learners worldwide and clients include higher education, K-12, as well as associations, government and other leading organizations. Founded in 1999, Desire2Learn is headquartered in Kitchener, ON, Canada with personnel located in North America, the U.K. and Australia. For more information, visit:, call 1.519.772.0325 or toll-free 1.888.772.0325 (within North America), 0808.234.6744 (U.K.) and +61 412 067 308 (Australia).


Press Contacts:

John McLeod
Vice-President, Marketing, Desire2Learn Incorporated
Twitter: @Desire2Learn